top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureKaila Schusterman

Part 1- Chapter 5



Part One - The Reveal

Chapter 5


The beginning means a fresh start.

A new seed sown.

A new child born.


Benjamin pulls his cloak tighter around his shoulders. His thick shirt cannot keep out all the cold. He glances at Mary. Her lips are set in a thin line and she shivers beneath her worn shawl. Benjamin takes off his cloak and drapes it around her shoulders. She smiles at him gratefully and opens her mouth to speak, but Benjamin holds a finger to his lips and gestures around. 

They approach the clearing where Benjamin confronted Anna. Mary takes Benjamin's hand. She looks scared. Anna is sitting on a fallen log. Her hand is lit up with Fire. Shoulders hunched, and eyes alert and wide. She rocks to and fro. When she sees them she stands. 

“Hello Anna,” says Benjamin. 

“Hello. Sit down, please.” Anna is wearing the same dress as she was on that fateful night. It is dirty at the bottom, and thorns cling to the hem like a man in the desert clings to his water.  Benjamin moves to the log, but Mary stays where she is, staring fixedly at Anna.

“What is it, child? Are you scared of me?” asks Anna impatiently.

“I wasn't scared of Hanna Buford, but I am scared of  Anna. I am angry at Anna.” says Mary in a low voice.

“Angry?! Why would you be angry?”

“Hanna! You left your child behind! You left Sarah behind with the man you ran away from! How could you do that?” 

Anna turns away. “I am starting anew. I have no child. I have no husband.” 

“That’s-” 

“Do you want to hear about the Elements or not?” says Anna gruffly. Mary frowns, and realizing that Anna would not listen, goes to sit next to Benjamin. And Anna launches into speech. She explains about Empedocles, and Antice. About the Four Elements. About Masters.

At the end, she says, “I called both of you here because I believe you have capabilities to control an Element or Elements. Mary, you have shown extreme strength of will, and brains in the time I’ve known you. Benjamin, your mother, like I, can control all the Elements. Your Father cannot, and neither can any of your siblings, but I believe you can. So, I want you to come join me here in a fortnight and we will begin.”


4 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All

Part 3 - Chapter 7

Just be kind. Water looked just as Maia had imagined. Of course, she didn't actually see but as he could read her mind - and apparently her mental images too- he had laughed when the image of him rose

Part 3- Chapter 6

Tim’s birthday came and went. It will be painstakingly boring to have the reader live through the last month of Anna’s time with Maia, so I will summarize what they accomplished. Firstly, Maia was now

Part 3- Chapter 5

“Good morning!” “AH!” Yelled Maia. She turned to see Tim, and with a sudden realization saw how the past four months had so drastically changed him. His once clenched brow was now relaxed and of yore

bottom of page