top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureKaila Schusterman

Part 1- Chapter 6

Part One - The Reveal

Chapter 6




Another day, another explanation.


Anna marched toward Maia and said in a voice that trembled with emotion,

“Who is Hanna Buford?”

Maia stood up and felt anger surge up inside her. The emotions of the past few days came crashing to the surface, and poor Anna was the one to get the brunt of it.

Bristling with a cloud of darker emotions Maia said,

“Dont play dumb. Im not stupid. It's quite simple really. The Buford fire is a tale I've been hearing since I was a babe. My Father was there. He witnessed it. He said that Mrs. Buford didn't come out of the inferno, but he did see a figure running into the forest. Now, my Father would never let a mysterious human run away, so he probably ran after you. You most likely discussed Elements.”

“That doesn't explain how you knew I am Hanna Buford.” said Anna, abandoning all pretenses of not knowing.

“The fire explains it. My Father also told us how Mr. Buford mistreated his wife and child -whom I can believe you left to live at his hands!-  so, when the fire began burning you ran away. And, being able to control fire, you were left unscathed. I would go so far to assume you began the fire yourself.”

Tired out, Maia sat down, but continued looking intently at Anna. Anna turned away, effectively hiding her face. 

“What you said is all true. I am the widow of Mr. Buford, who has passed on, -may his soul live with the Devils for the rest of eternity- but that was my past. My life began on the night of the fire, for I was finally free.”

“So your life began when you were reduced to a fake town crazy? Why would you pretend to be a lunatic? I don't understand. And you had so much potential, why didn’t the Elemental Hands give you something to do?” asked Tim. 

“ ‘Another day, another explanation,’ ” quoted Anna, rubbing a gnarled hand over her tired eyes.

Silence descended upon the three living.

Through the open door, Maia saw the first rays of sun peeking through the trees. 

I wonder if one day  I will look back to this sunrise and think ‘that was the day my life truly began’ thought Maia. Suddenly, an echoing voice said,

Such thoughts, for someone so young. 

Maia jumped up and exclaimed, 

“Who said that?!”

1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Part 3 - Chapter 7

Just be kind. Water looked just as Maia had imagined. Of course, she didn't actually see but as he could read her mind - and apparently her mental images too- he had laughed when the image of him rose

Part 3- Chapter 6

Tim’s birthday came and went. It will be painstakingly boring to have the reader live through the last month of Anna’s time with Maia, so I will summarize what they accomplished. Firstly, Maia was now

Part 3- Chapter 5

“Good morning!” “AH!” Yelled Maia. She turned to see Tim, and with a sudden realization saw how the past four months had so drastically changed him. His once clenched brow was now relaxed and of yore

bottom of page